Engineering and Applied Science


The College of Engineering & Applied Science aspires to improve health, welfare, and prosperity through technical learning, research, professional practice, and invention. As part of this mission the college provides a vast array of scholarship opportunities specific to students majoring in an engineering field.

Scholarships are awarded based on student merit or need.

A sample listing of scholarships is shown below. The scholarships are for the academic year, unless specifically noted otherwise. This listing is subject to change without notice or obligation. Many of these scholarships are renewable.

Internal Scholarships

Balsells Graduate Scholarship

The Balsells Graduate Fellowship Program at the University of Colorado at Colorado Springs provides graduate fellowships to allow outstanding students from Catalonia to pursue master’s degrees in various fields of engineering and computer science.

College of Engineering Dean's Scholarship

The College of Engineering Dean's Scholarship is offered to full-time undergraduate students in the College of Engineering and Applied Science. Students may reapply each year for this scholarship.

ECE Faculty Scholarship

The Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) Scholarship provides awards to outstanding high school students who have been accepted into the Electrical and Computer Engineering program. Scholarship recipients will receive $1,000. Students must maintain a minimum 3.0 GPA, be a declared major of either electrical engineering or computer engineering, and enroll full-time.

MCI Scholarship

The MCI Scholarship rewards up to $6,000 over four years to the excellence among entering freshmen in the top 10% of their senior class. Must have financial need, be preparing for a career in computer science, and have completed courses meeting Minimum Academic Preparation Standards (MAPS).

Roger DeKok Scholarship (up to $2,000)

The Roger Dekok Scholarship is for students pursuing a BS through the College of Engineering and Applied Science with a minor in Aerospace Engineering and interested in a career in the aerospace industry.

Greg Sajdak Memorial Scholarship (up to $1,000)

The Greg Sajdak Scholarship is awarded to students majoring in computer engineering or electrical engineering who are not necessarily the highest achievers, but highly motivated and willing to work hard.

Saponas Scholarship

The Saponas award is for undergraduate students enrolled in the College of Engineering and Applied Science, at the University of Colorado Colorado Springs. The scholarships are based off academic qualifications of the recipient without regard to financial need. The recipient must be a citizen of the United States. Awards are typically $16,000 over a four year period.

Schuman Scholarship

The Schuman Scholarship is for full-time students pursuing a degree in Business, Engineering and Applied Science, or entering the Teacher Education, Alternative Licensure, or Distributed Studies Special Education Programs or be majoring in approved teacher certificate degree in LAS (senior year).

UCCS Boeing Eng Scholarship

The UCCS Boeing Engineering Scholarship is an award for full-time, undergraduate engineering students. To qualify, students must demonstrate financial need by completing the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA).

External Scholarship

AIAA Foundation Scholarships and Graduate Awards

To help support promising future aerospace professionals, the AIAA Foundation annually awards financial aid to undergraduate and graduate students in science or engineering programs related to aerospace.

American Council of Engineering Companies of Colorado Scholarship

The American Council of Engineering Companies of Colorado (ACEC/CO) Scholarship Committee will award $30,000 in scholarships to students in engineering and surveying programs. The top award is $6000.

Intel Women in Engineering

Intel has sponsored the Intel Science Talent Search, a national competition designed to recognize student achievement and inspire innovation in science, technology, engineering, and math.

SACHS Foundation Undergraduate Scholarships

These scholarships are for high school seniors only, who will be attending college in the fall term of 2014. The average undergraduate amount if $5,000 per year. This amount could vary depending upon fund availability.

Scholarships for Women Studying Information Security

Applied Computer Security Associates, sponsor of the ACSAC and NSPW conferences, has offered scholarships for women in security-related undergraduate and masters' degree programs through the Scholarships for Women Studying Information Security. Thanks to a $250,000 4-year contribution by Hewlett-Packard company in early 2014, ACSA expanded our program to award 11 scholarships for the 2014-15 academic year and beyond. The Committee on the Status of Women in Computing Research (CRA-W), an arm of the Computing Research Alliance, led selection of scholarship winners. Information about the 11 SWSIS Scholars (scholarship winners) is available at ACSA, CRA-W, and HP are pleased to announce that applications for 2017-18 scholarships are open Dec 15 2016 - Feb 15 2017. To apply, an applicant must provide: * An essay describing her interest and background in the information security field. * A current transcript. * A resume or CV. * At least two letters of reference (typically from faculty members). * Her university name and class status. The scholarship is renewable for a second year subject to availability of funds, given proof of satisfactory academic progress.

Society of Women Engineers Scholarships

SWE Scholarships support women pursuing ABET-accredited baccalaureate or graduate programs in preparation for careers in engineering, engineering technology and computer science in the United States and Mexico.

Women in Aerospace Foundation Scholarships

The Women in Aerospace (WIA) Foundation, Inc., is delighted to announce Erin M. Kirchmeier and Samantha B. Rawlins as the recipients of WIA Foundation Scholarships. Each will receive a $2,000 scholarship to be applied to the 2013-2014 academic year